Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A Grand Day Out

Off to the Botanics this morning - the glorious weather continues. I just hope we don't look back on February being the best month of the year...

Every man and his dog was out. No - no dogs, but plenty of pushchairs and toddlers. We had lunch in the new place, though it's not new any more. Very nice setting, great food, nice ambience (no muzak), but jings! They need to get the service organised a bit better.

We walked into town from there and had a coffee a wee French place. Not sure what's French about it - I think they have a real French baker - the proprietor certainly isn't. But he did change the headbanging muzak for something French, at my request (we were the only folk in at the time), so he's got my vote.

As we passed through town, there was a big crowd around three lads doing acrobatics/street dancing. They looked like a boy band. So cute. And they were very very good. Everyone had their phones out, taking photos. And there was me with my DSLR. They spied me and obviously thought I was a professional at least, possibly working for the paper. They made sure they held their pose for me and checked that I was ready for the next boy - they took turns to do things. Lewis (with the red shoes) asked me to send them some photos, which I will, of course.

From there we popped into a pub near the cinema, for we were off to see Argo at last. It was very very good. It's a wonder that Ben Affleck's beard didn't have a twitter account, like Pippa's bum and Anne Hathaway's nipples at the Oscars. It was magnificent.

Walked home from the cinema. It was a great day. And actually, I have just realised I walked all the way from the Botanics today. MILES!

I am off to put my feet up. But not like Lewis!!

EDIT: I have added a couple more shots here and here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.