Pop of colour

What a beautiful day! Sunny and no thundering nor'easterly wind. Fuelled with coffee and the treat of a date and citrus scone from the Little River Cafe, I headed home via Birdlings Flat.

I wanted colour and colour I found among the eclectic houses and buildings at Birdlings Flat. My brain had enough stimuli to process yesterday so I kept my toodle on Keith sedate and short.

It's just a tad over half an hour from there to home where a disgruntled Jasper met me. He couldn't decide whether to love me to death or to show his hurt at having spent 2 nights on his own. It's such a burden being male and a cat. ;-)

I'm mostly unpacked having taken frequent brain breaks. I'll continue my careful balanced approach for the rest of the day.

Monday 8 February is a public holiday in NZ because Waitangi Day was on Saturday. I hope we continue to see and hear a less eurocentric telling of our nations history, however painful that may be.

I was at university before I had any idea of the land wars and confiscation by the crown of Maori land. Later still before I discovered Barrack Rd the street I grew up in Auckland, was named after the barracks used to house troops involved in forceful taking of Maori land in South Auckland and Waikato. Our history needs to be told and owned.

Today's gratitude: For a beautiful day and a gentle pace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.