A date with Keith

Don't get excited, Keith's my new bike.

I biked the furtherest I have since my concussion today. That included accidentally biking up a steep hill. (I thought it was going somewhere else). I can confirm that Keith climbs well - at least on tarseal.

Then we cruised a section of the Rail Trail. I was mindful of distance and not heading out too far. Other than the accidental steep hill, the other excitement was meeting a bull.

It was difficult to miss wandering along the track towards me. With the black coat, bright sun, and deep shadows, I thought it was a steer. During my careful manoeuvre to pass said creature, I suddenly realised it had all the requisite equipment bulls have.

None of the trail is technical or demanding but I had to judge and negotiate narrow bits, cattle stops, and spring loaded gates. I surprised myself and my confidence soared. I should have quit while I was ahead and continued back to base but no, I was having too much fun with Keith and had to keep on exploring.

Yeah, it became a bit too much for my brain. I'm rested now, a bit wiser for next time and there's still a grin on my face. Keith's such a bad boy, we're definitely going to have rowdy good times in future.

Today's gratitude: For fun and safety.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.