Bob20

By Bob20

Geo-thermal lagoon, Iceland

We have arrived home. It is always great to be home after a holiday, especially when you have had a week of almost continual rain. But Iceland was very different and I'm glad we went.

Yesterday, when driving to the Blue Lagoon near Grindavik, we saw some small pools of beautiful blue/turquoise water full of white mineral deposits.

Realising I needed a blip today, we quickly diverted there to capture a very quick shot on the way to Kevlavik Airport.

I can guarantee that this image is exactly as we saw it. The black lava rock, the black clouds, raining in the distance and this most beautiful water, laden with white mineral deposits. It was almost surreal. I have never seen anything like it. The pools are fed by underground springs which are very warm. The same springs must supply the Blue Lagoon, which was not as blue as this pool though!!

Tonight, I intend to get back to viewing journals. My apologies for having missed lots during the week, but I'm sure you understand why:)

Thank you for all the stars, favourites, views and comments which have lifted my Iceland blips into the Spotlight, I think nearly every day. I believe this blip is the most spectacularly unusual of the Iceland blips. It was quickly taken on a Canon G1X.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.