JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Catkins in the snow

Lots of snow flurries today, and too much icy snow and slush on our steep road to allow any trips out in the car.
I managed a quick afternoon walk in the park, revisiting the catkins that I looked at the other week.  This time I concentrated on trying to capture some with their tiny red flowers showing. The wind was blowing the branches to and fro, and I was trying to stop the camera getting snowed on, so it was an interesting juggling act.
Otherwise: I've baked bread, made carrot/apple/hazelnut soup and made creme caramel.  A cooking binge. Tonight we're having a Zoom dinner with two old friends who live nearby, and who've been in self-isolation ahead of a knee replacement operation that one of them is booked in for this week.

Jack texted me today to say that he'll be having his first vaccination on Weds - yay! He works for the Refugee Council in Yorks and Humberside, and it's been agreed that client-facing staff can get jabbed. I could feel his relief virtually leaping off the phone screen as I read the message.
I hope that it won't be too long for the rest of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.