Photos from A Field

By RandallFriesen

It Came

I have been needing a new computer for work for a while now and due to Covid, none of the local Apple stores had one, let alone were willing to let me in the doors.

The online site said I needed to order one online and it would arrive eventually. I wasn’t really comfortable with that. The amount of money it would cost and having my computer floating around out there for a month was unsettling, to say the least.

And then there’s the problem of the shippers even being able to find our place here in the county. Remember we still use addresses that are the same as hundreds of others out here except for our name on it. We haven’t received an uneventful shipment from Amazon in years.

But we needed one, so I took a deep breath and clicked the Buy button.

It was made in China and I was able to begin tracking it in Shanghai. In much disbelief I watched as it found its way to Canada. Then yesterday I saw that they had made an address correction to our land location, which made me nervous. But they still said it would be here by the 10th.

So today when there was a banging on the door I was pleasantly surprised to find the new computer, made in China, has made it right to my house here in a field in western Canada. Early.

Really, a modern day miracle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.