Paul'sPix

By PaulShelley

Avarst there me hearties!

Whatever that means. On my way to the Ansel Adams exhibition at the Maritime Muaseum in Greenwich I walked past the Cutty Sark. It is very impressive when viewed close up.

The Ansel A exhibition was kind of good. Some of the pictures are stunning, others nothing special. But what he said that was interesting was...

" The photograph is the composition written by the composer. The printing is the interpretation done by the conductor". I.e. a work written by Mozart will sound different depending on the conductor and their interpretation.

So there was a film running which showed a straightforward print of one of his photos, with no production work. The result was uninteresting, even boring. But it was his hours of dodging and burning in the darkroom that created the stunning prints that we are familair with. Therefore it is worth spending time on the processing. I suppose that is stating the Bl**din' obvious but I thought it was a good analogy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.