Crossing A Line

In truth, when I saw the line drawn in the bank of windblown snow, in not quite stark relief from a pale sun, I thought to emulate images I had seen of sand dunes. The line might not have the scale or elegance of those I sought to imitate, but one has to try these things and, if it doesn't work, I will not have wasted a long and arduous journey.

My first problem was finding a suitable viewpoint, not least because flailing around in deep(ish) snow with a tripod in hand is a cumbersome process. Second was where to place the line in the frame and given it didn't actually lead to a conclusion, what was its purpose. Third, in the failing light, the line's presence was in danger and consequently time was of the essence.

In the end, all that remains are a few simple elements and a lot of empty space.


"Did I miss the mark
Overstep the line
That only you could see" - Bob Dylan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.