A Crisp Day

Well, I suppose it had to happen through time.  I received an unsolicited bottle of whisky today, through the post, from a special friend.  As I slowly opened it I thought – this doesn’t appear to be well packaged.  The bottle flew out, dunted off the edge of the table and smashed on the tiled floor of the porch.  All in one tenth of a second.  When it comes to the provenance of the bottle suffice it to say the porch is now pervaded with the essence of seaweed steeped in iodine, TCP, smoke, peat, liquorice tangles, a salty breeze, varnish and ashes. 

Oh well (which I didn’t say).

When I regained consciousness, I went across to Stromness to take my mother her messages then returned home to smell the porch.

Things are so bad that I’ve had to open an 18yr old Springbank.  Hang the expense but obviously not the monkey.

I think I need to buckle down and get on with my correspondence course on Horse Measuring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.