Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Flowering in the snowing

We woke to find yet another small fresh snow fall, and for the third day running, W had to get the snow shovel out and clear the path to the studio before we could go and exercise.

Meanwhile, I popped down the garden, and was fascinated to see how the aconites in particular had a small patch cleared of snow around each plant.  There were a few visible snowdrops as well, so I've put one into extras, but for the main blip I prefer the splash of yellow against the white, even though the plant is looking a little sorry for itself.  I'm particularly pleased, as this year the winter flowering aconites are finally looking as if they mean to stay - previous years have been disappointing.

The aconites and snowdrops are not wild - but we would like them to appear so in our little woodland area.

It's been quite a nice day - intermittent sun, though remaining pretty cold.  I thought we'd seen the last of the snowfall, but just before I packed up in the studio this evening we had yet another brief flurry.  Hopefully, that is now really the last of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.