Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Duff daffs

Back blipped on the morning of 12th February

I saw that ArcLight talked about a bunch of "duff daffs" in her blip a few days ago.  And JoppaStrand commented that Lincolnshire daffs are field to vase in 36 hours.

Well, the latest bunch from our local farm shop were (I was informed when I asked) from Lincolnshire, and not one of them has opened properly.  They never hung their heads in the usual daffodil fashion, permanently looking up at the ceiling like this one, and they are now definitely past what was never a very good "best".  I need to visit the shop again today or tomorrow (depending on the state of the still snowy roads) so I'll buy a new bunch, whilst maybe also commenting on my disappointment with this bunch.  Maybe they'll have tulips?  That would be even better.

Mind you, this rather duff daff reflects quite well my current mood.  I'm pretty fed up, and really struggling to find anything that I want to photograph.  Conditions under foot are dire - snow and mud in the fields, ice on the pavements - and W has a painful foot, so going out for a walk is really not an option.  I shall shortly go and ride my exercise bike for a while to generate a few endorphins, then press on with some sewing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.