Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Queueing

At about 4pm today, I was sewing in the studio with my back to the door.  When I heard it open, I thought "Oh great, I was just thinking about coffee", only to discover that W was not bearing a coffee, but the tidings that he had just been phoned and invited to attend the local community centre vaccination site, as they had had some cancellations and there was spare vaccine.

Luckily, I offered to go with him, as there was quite a queue for the car park, so W was able to jump out, and join the queue snaking around the building, whilst I waited to park the car.  I took this photo as soon as I had parked - W is chatting to the lady in the white hooded coat - I fear they are not quite 2 metres apart.  She turned out to be the mother of the lady who does our gardening.  It W had been driving himself, he would have been joining the end of this queue.

It was all very well organised, with lots of marshals ensuring that the parking in what is quite a small car park, made slightly smaller by the lying snow was not a chaotic scrum.  They must have been perishing - the temperature hasn't got above zero all day, and we had several short sharp snow showers during the morning.

W had the Pfizer vaccination, and thus far has no ill effects.  I must remember to keep my phone ringer turned on from now on, in case I too get a short notice summons!  I've been impressed at the rapidity with which they are rolling out the vaccines, but we hadn't been expecting to get our summons for at least another week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.