CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Redwing on the canal cut near Newtown

I ventured back to where I saw the kingfisher diving a few days ago, hoping that the sunnier day might make it easier to film it. It might have done if I had seen it. Instead, after my eyes adjusted to the snowy conditions and the rather overcast weather that came in once I'd arrived near Newton, I was greeted by a flock of redwings.

They were flitting about at great speed amongst the tall tree trunks on the far side of the canal, backlit by whatever sunlight there was. I got some great shots of the aerobatics of this fine bird, as they hunted in the ivy cladding the tree trunks, looking for the dark berries. I would have blipped one of these action shots if the image quality had been better. It was quite a contrast to seeing them on the wide open spaces of the fields where the flocks would mass together. Here they were individuals flying amongst trees, with probably about ten birds all told at any one time.

At one point this redwing came to the tree close to where I was standing on the canal bank. I enjoyed being able to see it up close and it seemed to pose for me for a short while, unlike its more frantic movements when feeding. I love the look birds give you when they see your lens pointing at them. Disdain, or a quizzical consideration?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.