NEWCASTLE CITY WALL

I went into Newcastle today. Went to The Tyne Theatre to pick up a ticket for a concert I'm going to in November. To get to the main shopping area I took a short cut through Chinatown.

My blip shows part of the Town Wall. The wall was built during the 13th and 14th centuries, and helped protect the town from attack and occupation during times of conflict. In my shot you can see a small postern gate which used to link Blackfriars Monastery with the monastery lands, cut off from the friars when the wall was built.

In front of this is a newly constructed Chinese Garden which is one of the Pocket Public Parks - a business initiative born from the need to create more green space in Newcastle city centre.

The weather was quite nice today - lots of sunshine and mild for the time of year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.