OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

An iron wheel at the Point of Ayre

Yesterday, I looked for a goshawk without success and today I had an equally unsuccesful search for a gyr falcon around Newark Bay in Deerness. I started at Lighthouses Corner and got a merlin nearby and headed down to the bay. No falcon, but I noticed a greylag goose which looked freshly-killed; maybe it was gyr prey. At Geo I got another merlin- a nice female moving from fencepost to fencepost, then a beautiful male hen harrier swooped through. A pair of ravens flew past, both carrying nesting material like a couple returning home from Ikea.
While waiting for the bus to Kirkwall I talked to a local bird-ringer I know who enlisted my help in relocating a purple sandpiper he found yesterday with a leg-tag showing it had been ringed on Svalbard, 400 miles north of mainland Norway. He hadn't managed to photo the bird but we found it amongst about 120 others, and got shots of the tag. This iron wheel was on the shore by where I had my coffee at Point of Ayre. The island on the right is Copinsay, on the left is the Horse of Copinsay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.