Bowing down

We returned to Ick Tarn today to try to find the flat ski-track we had read about. Did we find it? I'm not sure - it depends on your definition of "flat" as there were certainly some ups and downs on the track we were on.  Does it matter - not really as we had a fine time in the crisp air.
There were several areas like the one in my picture, where the wet snow had fallen, stuck to the tree and bowed it over, leaving a surface for more heavy wet snow. Then the whole lot froze! Beautiful to look at, but some of these trees will never recover. That's nature!
On the way home we stopped at the second-hand shop. I was reluctant but went in because it was a bit chilly to sit in the car. Then I found an "assistent", a sort of heavy duty stand mixer for sale. It was the machine, two stainless steel mixing bowls, dough hooks and rollers, and a mincer. They are renowned for lasting for ever and the deal was if it didn't work I could bring it back. One of the selling points of the machine is that all the accessories fit any of the machines made from 1940 up till today!
Once home I downloaded a manual, plugged it in (it worked) and checked what I have. If it works as promised I have a very good deal. Must do some baking tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.