Baking with the Machine!

Today I tried the machine I bought yesterday, an Electrolux Assistent, model N23. (The first version, made in 1940, was model N1, the latest model is N30.) For me this was a new experience so I produced two sorts of different dough to see how it would work.
First I made almost 2 kilos of sourdough, using one of my usual recipes and the dough hook, here by the side of the machine. It made a good soft dough that proofed well.  That dough is now in baskets in a cold place and will be baked tomorrow or the next day.
The second dough was my favourite yeast bread, Hokkaido milk bread. It is an extremely soft dough and I used the roller for this one. That is what I've pictured here. I hadn't realised how much I needed to feel this soft dough with my hands, to know how it was developing, and when to add more flour.  Watching it go round was just not the same.  When I decided it was ready I was very uncertain. However, this dough has now been baked and made the usual good bread (extra) so it seems to have worked well.  I'm very happy with my new machine!
We did a bit of political work this morning, making a rough film for the left party, and I played around with our Dropbox storage, which is getting full, and is where the films we were playing around with end up stored. Otherwise It was a baking day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.