Playing and Working

When I worked I enjoyed my work, some parts of it felt like play. Now I have retired there is still a mix of work and play.  But often that work too feels like play. I cleared the snow off the roof of our double shed - it was work, and I have the sweaty clothes to show that, but it was so enjoyable that it felt like play. Physical exercise, out in the fresh air, surrounded by natural beauty, work or play?
When it comes to today's picture there was no doubt here, it was play, pure and simple. We wanted to set up our firebasket so we could meet our visitors outside, but on the usual place we have that fire there was nearly 2 meters of snow.  We could put it somewhere else, or we could dig away the snow. We decided it would be fun to have it just there, reflecting the heat back from walls of snow. In the end we realised we could perch it up on a shelf of ice.
In the end the visitors arrived later than planned so we never got to try it out, but maybe tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.