No 151: Smew

Today is my birthday, and my special treat was a visit to the WWT London Wetlands Centre , which is somewhere I've wanted to go for quite some time. It didn't disappoint - so many wonderful waterfowl, and other birds! I took hundreds of photos, and quite a few that I was pleased with, but I decided to go with this Smew for a few of reasons. Firstly, it is a bird I have been hoping to see for quite some time and been disappointed not to spot it. Secondly, it is a fitting end to my Month of the Duck project - although technically I believe it's a sawbill (you can see why if you go large). Thirdly, it constitutes Bird Blip 151 on my ongoing list - it's been a while since 150. Finally, I think it qualifies for the Blip Big Year list.
We had a lovely meal this evening - all in all a brilliant day. We have some time to do a bit more sightseeing tomorrow before heading home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.