But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

John Muir.

Today the weather dawned bright and bloody cold so I dressed up warmly to go cycling. By 11:00 it was getting uncomfortably warm and, as the bike I'm using until I've fixed the trike has little luggage carrying capacity, all clothing has to be worn. The sunshine did encourage the masses to venture forth, so we had 26 souls turn up at the lunch stop.

I needed to rush home from lunch as I had the last AGM of the year to attend, all the AGMs come in February, this one was for the Friends of Roslin Glen of which I'm secretary. Unfortunately, or fortunately, I passed through Prestonpans and found that I had to stop there to take this photo on the Mural Trail; it was slightly embarrassing since I had earlier made my apologies and hurried off on my own, only to be caught by one of our groups in mid blip. I joined them and continued in their company to Musselburgh where a few of us stopped for coffee and a scone.

The blip carries the inscription,
"John Muir, born in Dunbar 1838.
Sent forth an idea which inspired the nation of America and indeed the world for generations to come.
The least we can do is stand him a pint of Fowlers."
it is signed R Elliot.

This is a new mural replacing one, also depicting John Muir, that was damaged by the salt spray; the high tide is only a few feet away. If you wish to find it, it's opposite the "Gothenburg," the community owned inn.
I like the little origami boat just in front of Muir.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.