But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Kilburn Bridge.

News can travel very slowly; last week at the Roslin Heritage Society meeting I discovered that this bridge, built by an army unit from Glencourse Barracks in 1994, had been seriously damaged by the storms last summer. I went along there with the dogs today for an inspection. It appears that the support nearest the camera has been washed away leaving the bridge with only one leg to stand on.

The consequence of the delay in my receiving this item of news is, of course, trivial and could never have been otherwise.

I had a phone call from a rather worried sister-in-law at the beginning of the week, her microwave oven had gone into self destruct mode, had stunk the house out and what should she do about it. She had already rung the local fire station but had to leave a message as there was no one in. A quick Google confirmed my suspicion that fumes from a burnt out microwave were likely to be toxic and my knowledge of the electronics inside and the similarities with the old cathode ray tube televisions suggested that there was a possibility of delayed combustion. The recommendation was to put the thing in the middle of the lawn where it could not do any harm and, if she had a headache or nausea to phone NHS 24.

Two days later, a fire engine with blue flashing lights and sirens blaring pulled up at the front door wanting to put the fire out!
I'm not a demonstrative sort of chap but I think that's the first exclamation mark I've used in Blipland; I do feel it is justified.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.