Spot the Goldcrest

It's been another very cold, very bright day and lovely to be out in all that sunshine.  Tony dropped me off in Saltaire so that I could stock up on my soap, which happily coincidentally is hand made by my recorder teacher F.  We combined my pick up with a sociable and distanced walk along the canal.  I had taken along banana muffins, which we enjoyed as we discussed allotments, the Edinburgh Fringe, communities and outdoor recorder practice.  I think it needs to warm up a bit before my creaky fingers will be ready for an outdoor lesson, but I do quite fancy it!

We parted company at Dowley Gap and both turned for home.  I had blipped the frozen canal which was dusted with snow, but as I walked through the estate and by the Poohsticks stream, I spotted the icicles.  I framed my blip and then, through the lens, saw the goldcrest hopping around on the moss covered stones.  It was completely the wrong lens so I ramped up the ISO, switched the camera to sport mode, pointed it in the general direction and took lots of photos.  This is the best of the bunch, but I like how well camouflaged the goldcrest is in its environment.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.