Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

The pigeon buffet is open!

Lockdown 3.0  Day #39

It was a bitter cold wind that kept us from going for a walk today, but we had our own drama to contend with in the garden this afternoon. It seems that the pigeon smorgasbord was open once again for the sparrowhawk. I think our pigeons are so well fed that they are now too fat and slow to escape the clutches of this deadly hunter. She took one down and then spent at least 40 minutes plucking and eating before I inadvertently spooked her and she flew off, although by this time her crop was so full, I'm surprised she could still take off! 
I'd spent all that time taking shots through both windows downstairs, the one upstairs and then finally we opened the back door and I sat with it open just wide enough to poke my lens out and get a few shots. 
I'm pretty sure this is a different bird to the one last month, but still a female I think. Unfortunately this time she left the remains of her dinner so if it is still there tomorrow, hubby is tasked with disposing of it. I'm not sure if she would come back to it or if another scavenger will take it, but I don't want it lying around for long! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.