Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Online and in the news

Today was the last, I think, of the beautiful days - though I have to say that that east wind is as biting as ever at almost midnight, and our bedroom will be perishing. Despite all my girning about post-jag symptoms yesterday, I slept like the dead last night - having our curtains drawn means I don't waken nearly so readily - and though the morning had me feeling just as achey as yesterday we realised after lunch that we were feeling better and went for a lovely walk in Benmore Gardens in brilliant sun.

Before that, however, I had a text from my youngest grandchild asking if I'd help her to write "a really good story". We had quite a faff getting on Zoom together - I'd never invited anyone to my own meeting, and she was depending on me to do it because her daddy was "on a call". (Apparently our messages pinging back and forth on the "family" group were driving him crazy ...). However, I managed it, we weren't cut off as early as I'd feared, and we had a lovely time discussing the tedium of templates and the possibilities opened up by the rule of thumb "Show, don't tell". She was a delight to teach this morning, and daddy joined in for ten minutes before the end, so that I forgot all my ills.

My blip shows that meeting - along with an item in the local paper tonight. My #1 son had told me they'd rung him, so the reporting is accurate if beset by comma-splice. It is my constant gripe just now that the paper is full of grammatical blunders - and yet we buy it weekly and wonder what we've missed if we don't see it. It's quite fun that for the first time ever all four of us are mentioned in the same piece.

A good day, then - and one in which Scotland seems to have come out top of the vaccination ratings for Europe. There's been a gargantuan effort to accomplish this; I only hope that supply issues don't affect onward progress. 

Talking of supplies - why is it impossible to buy leeks this week? Is it a weather thing?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.