Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Slurping - and the loss of everything

OK. I've just written a screed of thrilling details about today and it's all gone, gone ... because of a temporary internet outage. Only a few minutes, but it's lost and gorn forever, and I'm blowed if I can face writing it all again. So, working backwards through the day: the collage shows our dinner, in which I had my first go at using the ramen kit that was a Christmas present from family. Working round from the top: the bowls containing miso tare I made earlier (real Blue Peter stuff) with noodles and wilted spinach on top; me adding the oven-cooked mini chicken fillets (that for some reason are called "tenders") in panko crumbs, the broth going in, the empty bowls with the chopsticks and ladle, and the completed dish. It was delicious, and I'll be quicker next time now that I know what I'm doing.

Before that, we'd watched another nail-biting rugby match (Wales just winning at home to Scotland, if you live elsewhere) and had an unexpected visit from one of my oldest friends (60-odd years of school, uni, singing and church) who was over from Bute for the afternoon. I didn't cough so much and I haven't got Covid. (The PCR test results came through this morning.)

The weather was dreary all day, and tomorrow looks like wild and wet again. My sister is still in Madeira - I saw her drinking coffee on a live webcam from Funchal this morning. I should be there in a month ... fingers crossed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.