Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Fiat lux ...

Oh, let there be light right enough - literal and metaphorical - for this gloom has gone on long enough. I almost found myself having a duvet day today, if only because I fell asleep again after sitting up drinking tea, and woke forty minutes later, phone still in hand, specs on nose - and realised that the sun was shining and there was a washing to get done.

So here's some light for this morning - the first time I've been able to use my whirligig (or rotary clothes drier!) since it was installed in the mud of my damp garden three weeks (I think) ago.Joyously, when I took it all in again in mid-afternoon it was dry, and the room I put the laundry basket in soon smelled that wonderful line-dried clothes smell that tumble driers never replicate. 

Meanwhile the post arrived, containing my Vaccination certificate paper copy (in case it should prove more convenient than the phone app) and a PCR test which Zoe asked me to take because I admitted to feeling tired and having a cough when I was filling in my report a couple of days ago. I posted the completed test before lunch, so I should hear tomorrow some time. 

Despite still feeling tired and still having a bit of a cough and despite the fact that the wind was growing fiercer, we went for a walk in the last of the sun in the second half of the afternoon. That's when I took both my photos for today: the low sun photo at Toward Sailing Club was taken at 5pm, which surely says winter will end, and the felled tree with the completely hollow trunk answered my question as to why there was a man with a chain saw in Toward Castle grounds. Actually he seemed to be felling mostly random little birch trees that had sprung up among the big old ones, but this is clearly an older tree that needed to go.

I don't know if any of my fellow-blippers that call by are hooked on Wordle or any of its spin-offs, but I read an interesting piece in Sunday's Observer (I only got round to it today) about how it's mathematical types that regularly find their solutions in two lines. Something to do with predictions and the ability to line up options mentally.

I rarely get it in less than four. Maths was never my strong point. But I sometimes hit it lucky with Byrdle ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.