olivereastwd

By olivereastwd

19 years young

Turned 19 today! I had the most wonderful day filled with great food, loads of laughs and of course so much love.

Started off the day with a family breakfast - chocolate chip pancakes with mango juice - then everyone split off for work. I had my 3 tutorials which were all very interesting, with a break in between for some lunch together. Once I finished for the day we took a walk through Linn Park - it was so incredibly beautiful but very slippery - then got back home for an amazing meal of mushroom and quinoa burgers with coleslaw and chips.

Mama got a fire going and we sat together for presents. Papa got me new tires and a Brooks saddle for my bike, both of which are great and will really spruce it up; Rosie got me some sweet treats that have been my favourites over the years.

But the incredible gift was organised by Mama. She wrote to a whole bunch of people and asked them to send in books that they loved when they were 19. And the response was incredible - I got books from family in Canada, the UK and New Zealand, from my neighbours down the road and even from a few of my old teachers from Indonesia! There was such a range of books, from science fiction to meditation - one that was particularly touching was a book about the Canadian WWII corvettes from my Grandfather (his dad served on one). Even more incredible was the fact that a couple people even sent me the exact book they owned when they were 19!

I'm absolutely floored by it all. It's always so great to feel special and boy have I ever felt special today! So many people sending in these books means so much, as do the letters they sent that tell the story of what the book means to them. There's more meaning in that pile of books that I can really put into words - they tell really personal stories of love. I feel so incredibly loved today and I'm so thankful to have the family that I do.

I hope that in the future when I'm rereading this blip, I'll remember how special today was and how much love was shared today. I am so fortunate to have spent all 19 years of my life surrounded by so many people with so much love for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.