OutAndAbout

By OutAndAbout01

Up The Clyde

Up the Clyde but no 'banana boat' involved. My mother used to coin this phrase if I was telling her something she didn't believe. She used to retort 'Do you think I came up the Clyde on a banana boat?', of course at the time I had no idea what she meant or even where the Clyde was!

Nowadays it may seem there is a racial connotation and before the snowflakes jump all over me it merely means, 'do you think I'm stupid, ya wee arsehole'. I recently heard a similar phrase in Aberdeen which had been changed to 'doon the Dee on a digestive', as a child this must have caused plenty confusion.

Anyway I digress, here is the Clyde complete with swans and snow but alas no banana boat. Rugby and football to be watching today so bring it on.


'I see trouble up ahead
Where the river boat swayed beneath the sun
Is where the river runs red
I see double, that's my trouble'

Simon Geoffrey Fowler

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.