Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Winter Gravel Pit

Sevenoaks Nature Reserve is the first example of a gravel pit site being developed for the purpose of nature conservation, starting in the mid 1950s.I stopped off for a walk round the lakes on my way to visit Mum in our support bubble.

Kent was one of the areas with heavy snow last weekend, and with the cold temperatures continuing there was still more snow evident than in my more westerly locale.  However, the paths were a mixture of compacted snow, ice and muddy bogland ... I was glad of my walking pole which kept me upright on the few times I nearly went over!

This is the East Lake looking across to the North Downs and the various beaches and islets set aside for the birds. Although the hides are closed currently, there are still a few places you can see across the water to watch the birds (extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.