Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Breaking the Mould

Mum's shopping delivery this week missed off a few items ... including our dinner for Sunday!  So I dropped into the village to pick up her medicines and do a bit of shopping. I had no problems at the chemist, but Plan A went out of the window when I saw the long queues to get into the supermarket. Instead I executed Plan B and headed a few miles down the road to Darenth Country Park for a walk and drove back via a bigger supermarket.  Plan B abandoned when I saw even longer (and colder looking) queues there ... so it was back to Plan A and a visit to the original supermarket! I guess a combination of half term and Valentines Day caused the extra shoppers.

The park itself still had snow lying and the main paths, which are predominantly laid to concrete where they followed the original tracks through what was originally an old asylum hospital from the 1900's, were like ice rinks.

i took a different route round the site, visiting an area at the top not visited before. There I found this sculpture of an egg, together with it's mould.  An inscription on the side identified it as Changing Places 2000 AD, Breaking the Mould  by the artist Andrew McKeown. A great find for today's Blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.