Adrift

This is where I bellied.  Couldn’t go forward, couldn’t go back.  Spade out and freed her up.  Reversed for about 30m and then punched through.  The irony is that 95% of my journey was on black roads.  But, with the wind gusting between 45 – 60 mph it started lifting the snow in the fields and dumping it back on the road alongside Balfour Cottage and above Clestrain.  When I got to my mother’s she asked why I was late!! 
 
On arriving home I really struggled to get the garage door open because of the sheer wind load on it.  Eventually I managed.  I went in, relieved, made myself a pot of tea and crept up on the Clynelish only to hear CMC ‘reminding’ me (i.e. I’d never been telt) that I had to make another journey.  For a minute I thought she meant my final one – she had the nutcrackers in her hand.

For a contrast see Stromness today – no bipeds about.  Relatively sheltered but a wind that would blow you into your bed in Dundas Street in no time.

I think this calls for a game of crib.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.