Photos from A Field

By RandallFriesen

Miracles look different sometimes

Well the new computer arrived on Monday, by Friday afternoon I had some time to set it up, which I did with pleasure. Today came for moving some things over and giving it a test run.

So I started the task that I do every day with the videos we produce. I edited and encoded them on the new machine, pressed the button, and watched with amazement.

This photo is a picture of the activity monitor on the new computer. I drew in what the old CPU load looked like on the old computer. Full 100% load, for an extended time, fans going full speed, can’t do anything while that’s happening.

Whereas on this machine, it’s hardly a blip along the bottom. No fans went on, and I could do a few other things while I waited for the task to be completed which took hardly any time at all.

In my day-to-day world it will make a huge difference, it is almost like a technological miracle. Except I understand how the miracle happens in this machine.

I am so grateful and I hope this machine will last for many many years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.