and through the wire...

By hesscat

Snowed In

Well I lost my bet, the winds continued all night and all day, scraping the snow off the ground and piling it up wherever it wanted. In the past 25 years we've had drifts piled up against our house, sometimes 5 feet high and we've needed stepladders to get out. Last night wasn't as bad, but suitably impressive to wonder how the science of drifts and wind work.

On column 3 there's a photo of the same view at 1pm and again at 9pm, with ridge beng formed about my waist height so far, and growing - it could be the min-alps. At the far right, Arlo is 2 feet higher and can reach the bird food.I am assuming the wheel barrow is farmerboab who apparently tried to get up the track in a tractor and possibly stopped there. I am not sure we are going anywhere soon as there are numerous drifts up to 2 feet high blocking us getting out. I not sure 5C from Sunday is enough for a quick thaw. If we need supplies flown it you'll read it here first.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.