Less is more

Sometimes I say that less is more
It shows me what I'm looking for
The solitude, the loneliness
The need for peace, the need for rest

Sometimes I stare for far too long
At the door where I've come from
And I neglect the path ahead
The one that I should take instead

The tears, the angst, down in the dumps
And life's low lows and giant humps
It seems that I can ne'er surmount
When I am gripped with fear and doubt

So less is more and simple's good
It's all I have, and so I should
Be kind to me, and gentle too
Until refreshed I'm hatched anew.

~Barking~


So, another of my silly little ditties. Just came to mind when I was looking at this teeny acorn.

I was looking at my students' photography in class today and giving them critique. I am slowly building up the confidence to give them positive and negative feedback (in the past I only said anything if I could think of something nice to say. Since I'm the teacher, I guess I need to help them critique their work!). The negative is usually in the form of something I would have done to improve the shot - so constructive, I guess. We've done the elements and principles of photography and are moving into techniques, like aperture and shutter speed, etc. next week. It's going well so far. Long may it continue! I'm trying to think of 'assignments' they can do weekly. Focusing on one particular thing - i.e. eggs, minimalism, DOF, autumn, etc. Any ideas would be gratefully received.

A quiet weekend ahead of me. I have some photoshoppery to do on some photos I took of a family a while ago. The father is wearing his sunglasses in some of the shots (I did ask him to remove them) and they want me to see if I can 'doctor' them to remove the sunglasses. Fun! Thank goodness for B, my master Photoshopper!

Hopefully I'll get out for a walk with JL later and then a quiet night in.

~Barking~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.