In the Heritage Orchard

I spent a happy hour in the Heritage Orchard, where the new growth of grass and wild mustard is insanely bright this time of year.  I always find it a challenge to capture - I can't guite believe the colours myself.
The orchard was originally planted in the early 20th century, and the Civic Center buildings were added in the 1970s. Frank Lloyd Wright is credited with advising the use of the site for the Civic Center - though he had nothing directly to do with the architecture. I suppose the long, low buildings with the big puffy eaves show the influence of his Prairie Style, if nothing else.
There's a whole new set of City offices going up just over the fence - I wonder what will become of some of these older buildings. The apricot trees will remain I'm sure - there are whole bunch of tiny saplings newly planted among the venerable survivors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.