SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Helicon Opacity Map

Sunday - son playing Ultimate most of the day and beloved working.  I helped her for an hour or three (with my MS Office skills) but had a rare few hours to take photos.

Did three bathroom macro shots (for the one square metre challenge) but not happy with them - I'm so focused on technique (excuse the pun) that I look at them and think "technically pretty damn good, but really quite boring".

I also tried something I thought of a few weeks ago - a glass of soda water.  Had three goes at it - all pretty good but when I loaded the folder into Luminar it pulled in this "Opacity map".  Some sort of temporary file it uses to focus stack the 60 or so images that went into making the final image.  Basically this shows the main focus points.  I loved it so much I thought I'd call it my own.  I really like how you can really see the depth of field on the bench top.

I've added two extras - one of the final result from this "work in progress" and the third attempt from a slightly different angle (slightly higher up).  I'm becoming increasingly gob smacked at how tiny changes in angle can make such an impact on the final result!  The little white dot above the brighter of these two images is an air bubble - I was going to paint it out but decided to leave it.

Cycling to the office tomorrow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.