SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Monday back at the office

Today was my first sort-of mandated day back in the office in North Sydney.

I decided I should ride my bike for a number of reasons, most noticeably my increasing weight.  It's 20km each way so non-trivial for an "old codger" like me and includes a couple of hills, two relatively long and steep ones each way (coming out of the valley made by Sydney's Middle Harbour having crossed the Spit Bridge).

The hills are a blessing and a curse.  The one going home is the worst: it's the steepest, busiest, narrowest and exposed to wind sometimes although it can be a stiff tail wind especially in winter.

The hill into work, heading south, is, by comparison, a pleasure.  Longer but gentler incline, closed to all but local traffic and has beautiful harbour and ocean views (see extra) as well as this pictured curiosity: Parriwi Head Light.  (The left hand headland in the distance has a matching lighthouse.  Ships coming into Sydney Harbour line the two lights up to ensure the correct shipping lane when entering.)

Life could be a lot worse.... I have a job, I have health, I have a pushbike and live in a lovely part of the world....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.