SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

You can't keep a good chair down....

Nothing happened today - just a s*** load of work - the sun started to set so I ran around the house and looked out at the garden as the sun often casts an interesting light at this time.

I spied this chair and was reminded of how much I love it (them).

This is a "replica" (knock off, fake, etc) of a "Kai Chair #42" (c. 1950s).  I bought them with mixed feelings.

It was the first dining room chair I had ever really liked that was even remotely in our price range.

I knew nothing about so called "replicas" so did some research and decided that I would have to eat my principles if I was ever going to get something I liked.  Kai Kristiansen still makes them today.  New originals will undoubtedly be superior quality to these (although these are actually pretty good quality) but the originals cost about $1,500 AUD each (imported) compared to these that we managed to buy at about $200 each (still sounds like a lot to me for just one chair).

Oddly enough, we recently saw some pretty tatty second hand ones in a very fashionable second hand shop in Strawberry Hills at about $1,200 each.  Some people have too much money - they'll cost at least another $200 each to restore.... It's all relative I guess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.