Welcome sight....

to many who have been stranded over the last couple of days. These guys do an amazing job. The have been working tirelessly to keep the roads clear, fighting a very uphill battle in the 50mph winds, which was blowing snow straight back to where they have cleared. They have been and dug vehicles out of ditches, got people home safely and generally been looking after the community in many ways. They deserve a huge thank you. We have many roads closed round and about as they are just too unsafe to venture on to with huge drifts that have been enveloping cars and drivers. With the forecast as high winds right through tomorrow as well I think staying home just now is the safest thing to do on all levels.
I had a day of cleaning as I needed to keep myself busy but free to easily stop and start. Mum had a bad night and was feeling really poorly from about 4am, awake coughing and shaking and   not knowing what to do. She  didn't ring me until 9am but I could hear she wasn't good. I told her to ring 111which she did. I was concerned because she didn't call me back for almost an hour and when I tried her phone a couple of times it went straight to voicemail. It turned out that after, the usual paraphernalia of pressing this button for this and that, she was put through to about three other people and then finally told someone would ring her back! They did but then she had to wait for another 90 minutes for the paramedic. I know they are so busy and they did their best. She had a slightly raised temperature but luckily her oxygen levels had risen to 94%, much better than earlier readings and her heart rate also better than when she spoke to 111. She has a monitor that she has been told to use 3 times a day and keep a record. The paramedic told her to take paracetamol and if she got worse to ring 999. My son and DIL dashed round with supplies of paracetamol and a little cake baked by their 5 year old, in case she needed a sugar boost. The whole day was spent on the phone with messages and calls. It's such a worry that she's on her own. Hopefully this will be another point in her favour for a move when she is assessed on Wednesday.
I didn't get a walk as it was too cold outside to have to spend time on my phone. I got my exercise today from vigorous vacuuming and managed over 5000 steps.
I hope tomorrow will be less of a worry!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.