Tulips from Amsterdam

A St Valentine’s Day with a difference today, no red roses or chocolates to share but I do have these lovely tulips from my neighbours on high which are standing up like guardsmen as if in salute to the day (not the neighbours, the tulips!)
The temperature feels almost Mediterranean at 6° and the snow on the patio is in retreat, but I haven’t felt the urge to battle the snowy slushy streets after an initial sortie for a Sunday paper. I am weary of the limitations of the snow and slither and hoping that soon the cafés will open and I can meet up with friends again.

I have watched more rugby in the last three days than I usually do in a year, a game for ruffians played by gentlemen and very large, heavy gentlemen at that . My Dad played rugby in his youth for London Scottish , but he was a wee man playing scrum half but I’m sure the rest of the team were never as big and heavy as the modern day rugby players.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.