lovelife209

By mindful_life

Beleaf in yourself

Today I should have been running a half marathon in Silverstone, having been postponed from November, but of course due to restrictions this was cancelled and has been rescheduled for October. The race organisers recently wrote to us saying we could run the half marathon ‘virtually’, upload it to them and they would send a medal to us. I registered for this option and last week they informed us that because of the bad weather across the country, we could run the half marathon any time between 14th and 21st February which I was quite pleased with as I usually like to do my longest run on a Saturday. So yesterday I did my usual half marathon and today had planned on a gentle run with my friend Geri.

We used to run together quite regularly but I think it must have been 18 months since the last time. We met at just after 7am with no plans as to where we would run or how far, other than her wanting to do at least 8 miles. She took me on a route I wasn’t familiar with but it was lovely, quiet and she filled me in on what has been happening over the last year or so. Time went so quickly, we found ourselves nearly the 10 miles mark with a couple left to go before arriving home, so we decided to carry on and I completed a second half marathon is as many days. It was actually a whole 7 minutes quicker than yesterday’s run which I am delighted with. The chances are I will do another before 21st so I may upload my quickest one to Silverstone at the end of the week. 

Today will be a quiet day at home getting ready for the working week. It is half term for the children so it will be a bit of a challenge to keep them occupied with choices being so limited. All we can do is our best. 

This afternoon I had spent some time writing so my blip is of my file that I was given when I left my old work place in September. It has my current writing in it for my new book and the message is lovely. Belief in yourself... You are much more capable than you think and you can do whatever you put your mind to. 

I hope you have all had a lovely weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.