Maureen6002

By maureen6002

.... friendship set to music......

G is my best friend - not my only friend, but my best. Of course he also happens to be my husband.

We met at school, and were friends before we started ‘going out’ together just before my 16th birthday, and eventually, some six years later, marrying. 

We’ve built - not literally - a home together, have two gorgeous sons, worked together for six years in our early careers, and retired together. 

Together, we’ve travelled the world, from backpacking around Greece and sleeping on beaches, to such far-flung destinations as Antarctica and Easter Island. 

We’re opposites - yin and yang. He’s calm and patient, I’m anything but. And it works.

If G has another ‘best friend’, it’s probably his music. A music graduate and teacher, his musical activities were pushed aside as he rose up the career ladder, and so in retirement he’s become reunited with his precious violin, practicing for months until his skills were honed and he felt good enough to join local orchestras. He loves his violin, his music, and - most of the time - me! 

Love is friendship set to music


Joseph Campbell 

Thanks to Carolina for hosting. 

(In accessing the only near-white wall in out home, I pulled out the sofa to discover a sadly dead bumble bee - we’ve yet to attempt spring cleaning. He’s my extra.) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.