FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Starling Nest

Over the past few weeks I’ve heard scratching from the roof although it sounds more like something in the cupboard trying to get out.

At first I thought perhaps mice but definitely heard wings flapping one afternoon. There is often a kerfuffle during the evening which can be quite unnerving.

This afternoon I sat at my desk with the velux window open wide when my friend (visiting in our bubble) pointed out starlings were singing on the chimney. I looked through his binoculars and saw their pretty feathers with a green-blue sheen shining in the light.

My RSPB handbook tells me Starlings sing throughout the year but especially before egg laying. Four or five eggs are laid, incubation lasts 12-15 days and the young remain in the nest about 21 days. So I’ll have some chirping to look forward to over the coming month or two. That will be interesting.

After watching out of the window for a while I saw a bird emerge from the hole above the beam and fly away. A short while later he returned and I caught him on camera on the roof. I set up my webcam facing outwards and recorded for a while. The picture quality wasn’t great so I’ll have to try again in better light. All this distraction meant the admin I was doing took longer than it should!

The snow finally thawed this afternoon (after lots of rain this morning) and I could get my car off the drive for the first time in eight days. I celebrated with a drive to the co-op this evening and treated myself to a discounted Valentine’s rose. Enjoying some bubbles too because I felt like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.