Marble... Run

...or should it be ball bearing run?

As expected I didn’t get out for a walk today - rather sore in places after my slip yesterday. Hopefully I shall be back out tomorrow. The most painful injury is to my right wrist - which I guess took the biggest hit! At least I have a support strap for it and a good supply of anti-inflammatories and painkillers. Plenty of beer too.

So instead of an outdoor blip photo you have a shot of this clever little bit of engineering. It was one of my Christmas presents, and to be honest has been a fallback candidate for a blip since then! It is entirely wooden (apart from two metal spindles and plastic retainers - and the ball bearings too). All the parts were pressed out of wooden sheets - which had been laser cut.

In case you were wondering, the little handle at the bottom turns the cogs which lift the balls which then run down the ramp to the ‘stairway’. The steps rise and fall in turn, lifting the balls to the top where they fall over onto a rocking bucket which tips them either down a chute or down a spiral ramp back to the start again. It is mesmerising to watch.

My frozen bubbles made it to the front page of ‘Popular’ - many thanks for all the stars and faves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.