Stitching

Since I started the 52 Tags challenge I have been playing catch-up, as I was a few weeks behind. Now I am all caught up and these are the first seven tags complete. On the back of each is the date and just a few words of anything significant about that particular week. (They look quite big, but they are only luggage label size - about 2in by 3in.)

I have so enjoyed returning to stitching for stitching's sake, not for anything. I am also enjoying delving into all my boxes and finding fabric and bits and pieces that haven't seen the light of day for a long, long time. I am delighted now that I can use them.

For example, the tags are laying on some Ikat fabric pieces that I must have bought somewhere, finding them so beautiful, although not knowing what I was going to do with them. Ikat is a weaving technique famous throughout Indonesia. The cloth is made by binding and dyeing the weft threads before weaving on a hand operated loom. It is highly skilled work and produces this gorgeous fabric. Pieces will undoubtedly figure in my work, as indeed they already have done. 

Gordon came across the guys laying cable for our fibre broadband - great to see it actually happening. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.