Second Mersey Crossing

As J was going to be longer at the hospital, and for once it was not raining, I decided on a short walk. Not too far as timing was uncertain. 

I don't really know Runcorn at all. A short way down the road from the hospital is "Shopping City", an internalised shopping mall built for convenient car and bus access, but not to my eyes exactly pedestrian friendly, externally at least. I only saw the side I passed (extra), passing no-one (the pedestrian walkways into the centre are all elevated, no point in me going that way). I read that when it was opened by the Queen in 1972 it was the largest internal shopping centre in Europe and attracted a lot of trade. Nearly 50 years later, it just looks sad to my eyes. 

A lot of these malls are not going to survive the relentless progress of on-line retailing, and I am not sure they deserve to. The most progressive approach I have seen recently is up at Stockton-on-Tees, where the Council is proposing the demolition of an entire mall built by Poulson in the 1970's, and replacing it with a riverside park so that the remaining town centre is reconnected back to the Tees.

 Halton Council have a big regeneration job on with this centre. I assume its in private ownership, and structurally it doesn't look too good. Something really radical is probably needed, not tinkering at the edges. It's a big job for someone.

Then uphill to Halton village and its castle. The first hill I have walked up since October, my legs noticed it was a hill. A real hill is going to be a shock. 

The views from the castle - a Norman edifice which did not survive Cromwell's orders to dismantle it - are pretty stunning, especially over the Mersey valley. Splendid views of the two Runcorn bridges, this is the new-ish toll bridge. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.