a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Heavy Weather

When I set out this afternoon, it was actually sunny, so the climb up to the Lansdown ridge via Kelston Roundhill was pleasantly warm - I had to take  my jacket off to avoid overheating.  However, no sooner had I achieved the top than a backwards look showed me that I was about to get very, very wet.  Fortunately I had time to get the waterproofs on before I joined the Cotswold Way heading for Pipley Wood.  

For three quarters of an hour the wind picked up and it absolutely poured, while I ploughed my way across the muddy fields of Lansdown.  Eventually I arrived at Pipley Wood where there is convenient bench with a sheltering roof, hard up against the wood which enjoys a view out over the Avon valley.  

I sat down and got out my flask of tea.  As I sat there dripping, the sun slowly came out and I took this shot with the iPhone - it is still raining to the left as you can see but to the right of the image the weather is improving rapidly.  

Sipping my tea and listening to the bird song I realised that I could hear a skylark. I looked upwards for it, but couldn't spot it this time.  Great cheered by that I carried on round towards Upton Cheyney and Bitton before coming back on the Bristol to Bath Cycle track to get me back over the river.  Just over 8 miles in all, in soggy, slippery, muddy conditions.  But when the sun shone it was heavenly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.