a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Wet and Windy

I understand that it may be a typically British thing to regularly mention the weather?  Perhaps it is because it is so changeable.  Whatever the reason might have been in the past, the regular winter storms give us quite a lot to talk about just at the moment - today being increasingly windy and wet as we build up to the latest pair. Yes, they are coming in pairs now.  Fortunately down here in the south west we are being spared the worst, but I really sympathise with those of you north of the border as it sounds as though you are in for a real battering.  :-(

I popped out to Chew before lunch in the hope that I might get something interesting to photograph.  It was very windy and wet, so I parked upwind and made sure to keep the lens of the camera pointing away from the spray.  There wasn't much choice of subject material but I was relatively pleased with how well this gull in flight turned out and that you can still see the rain in the air.

I find it really difficult to correctly identify gulls. I think that this is probably a Herring Gull in its second winter plumage. 

(Drat I can already hear at least one of your saying "The plumage don't enter into it...")

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.