a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Sonic Boom

Although it was pretty windy last night, with the remnants of Storm Dudley, we only really caught the edges, so no real damage done.  Tomorrow may be another matter however, as Storm Eunice is forecast to come our way and we have a red weather warning for that one.  

Taking advantage of the relatively benign weather today I shot down to the RSPB reserve at Ham Wall, where I was lucky enough to see and photograph the bird in the main.  You do have to look at this in large I'm afraid.  This quite large bird is very secretive and more often heard than seen.  Sitting in the hide we had been able to hear the occasional boom as the bittern staked its territorial claims.  The other occupants clearly knew each other and were staying over locally, so there was a fair bit of good natured chat on their part over the increase in hotel costs etc.

Much to my surprise and with no prior warning the bittern suddenly appeared and took off.  I didn't get long, and by the time I had said "bittern over here" twice (the first time no one was listening, and I had to repeat myself rather louder) it had landed and was busy making like a statue and disappearing back into the reeds.  The debate about whether or not I had really seen a bittern was put to rest by the photographic evidence - thank the lord at least some of the shots were in focus.

After that, every time a new person came into the hide I was introduced as "the chap who had seen the bittern".  Needless to say we didn't see it again, but I think that the others took comfort that the bittern really existed and was still out there .... somewhere.

I've also included as extras a lapwing in flight and a female marsh harrier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.