Scottish Flyer

By ianjardine

An actor between takes

Well I'm rather pleased to say I was not called from standby today as I am working both Saturday and Sunday this weekend so, once it was over I headed out for a walk to Quarry Bank Mill.

My initial thought for the image was of a robin (different one from before) that I came across as I walked through the woodland. This ittle chap was not shy and I actually had him sitting on my hand helping himself to some bird feed that I had remembered to take with me. I spent quite some time with him but eventually he flew off so I continued my walk through the woodland to Quarry Bank Mill.

Once I got there I was surprised to see that it is currently being used as a set for a new and powerful drama series 'The Mill' (working title) based on the real life story of Quarry Bank Mill in Cheshire. According to one of the actors I got speaking to (the one here in the image) it will be shown on Channel 4 sometime in the Autumn.

Having never seen a production crew 'at work' before I spent an interesting couple of hours watching them complete a series of takes in the main courtyard. The costumes and make up was terrific and it was quite amusing to see most, if not all, of the period actors reach into their pockets between takes to check mobile phones, ipads etc. It just didnt look right.

All in all a good afternoon out. The robin has to take a backseat today and I present you "an actor between takes". But, if you do want to see the robin I have placed the image on Flickr HERE

Have a great weekend everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.